Call for Proposals for the East Asian VLBI Network for the 2022A semester (rev. on 2021 Oct 8, 14)

Term 2022A Category EAVN
Submit start (UT) 2021-09-24 15:30:28 Deadline (UT) 2021-11-01 08:00:00
TeX file EAVN_Proposal_2022A.tex Sample pdf EAVN_Proposal_2022A.pdf

Detailed conditions on time allocation of Yamaguchi and Nobeyama stations were added to the status report. Please refer to the latest version of the EAVN Status Report for the 2022A semester via the EAVN website before submitting a proposal (revised on 2021 October 8 and 14).

Call for Proposals for the East Asian VLBI Network (EAVN) for the 2022A semester
Proposal submission deadline: 2021 November 1 (Mon.), 8:00 UT
EAVN website:

--- Major revisions from the 2021B semester ---
* Sejong 22-m telescope joins in EAVN open-use program. EAVN will be operated using 16 telescopes (VERA, KVN, Tianma, Sheshan, Nanshan, Kunming, Nobeyama, Takahagi, Hitachi, Yamaguchi, and Sejong)

*** Overview ***
We invite proposals for open-use observations with the East Asian VLBI Network (EAVN), which is the international collaborative VLBI array between China, Korea, and Japan. In the 2022A semester, 16 telescopes (VERA 4 x 20 m, KVN 3 x 21 m, Tianma 65 m, Sheshan 25 m, Nanshan 26 m, Kunming 40 m, Nobeyama 45 m, Takahagi 32 m, Hitach 32 m, Yamaguchi 32 m, and Sejong 22 m) participate in the EAVN open-use program.

*** Observing mode ***
EAVN provides opportunities of VLBI observations with a data recording rate of 1 Gbps (total bandwidth of 256 MHz) and with single polarization at 6.7, 22, and 43 GHz. Dual-frequency (22 and 43 GHz) simultaneous observation system can also be used for EAVN observations at KaVA (KVN + VERA) and Nobeyama, while the observing term in which the system is available will be determined later. Details of available observing mode can be found in the EAVN Status Report on the EAVN website.

*** Telescope time and array configuration ***
The total available observation time for EAVN is up to 500 hours in the 2022A semester, while the available observing time for individual EAVN telescopes are different. Especially, detailed conditions on the time allocation of Nobeyama 45-m telescope are defined in the 2022A semester. Please refer to the EAVN status report on the EAVN website for more details. All EAVN observations will be allocated between 2022 January 16 and 2022 June 15.

EAVN accepts a request for usage of sub-array configuration (KaVA 7 telescopes and additional telescopes from non-KaVA stations). There are several conditions of the antenna combination depending on the observing frequency. Further details about the sub-array configuration are shown in the EAVN status report.

In the 2022A semester, no limitation of the maximum request time for a single proposal is determined in case of usage of only KaVA 7 stations, while one can request for the maximum total telescope time of 50 hours for Tianma/Sheshan and Nanshan, and 36 hours for Takahagi, Hitachi, Yamaguchi, and Kunming. Total telescope time of 24 hours for Nobeyama and Sejong can be requested for a proposal. EAVN abolishes accepting a proposal requesting one-year-long observations from the 2021B semester. One should thus submit a proposal by a submission deadline for each semester.

*** Target of opportunity ***
EAVN accepts target of opportunity (ToO) proposals. Note that Nobeyama, Kunming, and Sejong cannot be included for ToO proposals. It is strongly recommended that ToO proposals (especially expected ToO) are submitted during the regular CfP, while unexpected or urgent ToO can be submitted as Director's Discretionary Time (DDT) proposals at any time. Note that the total approved time for ToO observation in the 2022A semester is limited to be 100 hours for ToO proposals for both expected and unexpected events.

ToO proposals must address clear triggering criteria to initiate an observation. ToOs are valid for one year after it is approved. ToO proposals for DDT should follow the same way of regular call and should be submitted via the EAVN website.

*** Proposal submission ***
Proposals should be submitted via the EAVN website. Proposal submission deadline is 2021 November 1 (Mon.), 8:00 UT. Please refer to the EAVN status report for detailed information about the proposal format. The designated cover sheet form can be downloaded from the EAVN websites.

*** Acknowledgment ***
All EAVN users are asked to specify the acknowledgment to EAVN in their publications. A template for the acknowledgment can be found in the EAVN status report.


Mareki Honma
Director of Mizusawa VLBI Observatory, NAOJ

Kee-Tae Kim
Director of Radio Astronomy Division, KASI

Zhi-Qiang Shen
Director of Shanghai Astronomical Observatory, CAS

Na Wang
Director of Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory, CAS