KVN and VERA Array (KaVA)

Call for Proposals for the East Asian VLBI Network (EAVN) for the 2020A semester

Proposal submission deadline: 15th November, 2019, 8:00 UT

Go to proposal submission


We invite proposals for open-use observations with the East Asian VLBI Network (EAVN), which is the international collaborative VLBI array between China, Korea, and Japan. In the 2020A semester, 11 telescopes (VERA 4 x 20 m, KVN 3 x 21 m, Nobeyama 45 m, Takahagi 32 m, Tianma 65 m, and Nanshan 26 m) participate in the EAVN open-use program. From the 2020A semester, proposal submission of the KVN and VERA Array (KaVA; 7-telescope array with KVN and VERA) is integrated with that of EAVN.

Additional notification to EAVN proposers (revised on 2019 October 31)
Available date for EAVN observations with Nobeyama 45-m telescope is fixed from 2019 April 21 through 24. Please refer to 'the EAVN Status Report for the 2020A semester' for more details.

Observing mode

EAVN provides an opportunity of VLBI observations with a data recording rate of 1 Gbps (total bandwidth of 256 MHz and with single polarization(LHCP) at 22 and 43 GHz. We also support various observing modes such as 'astrometry mode' and 'hybrid mode' for part of EAVN telescopes. Please refer to the EAVN status report on the EAVN website for more details.

Telescope time

The total available observation time for EAVN is up to 500 hours in the 2020A semester, while the available observing time for each EAVN telescope is different. All EAVN observations will be scheduled between 11th January and 10th June 2020. Please refer to the EAVN status report on the EAVN website for more details.

EAVN accepts a request of usage of sub-array configuration (KaVA 7 telescopes and additional telescopes from non-KaVA stations), as well as EAVN full array configuration.

The maximum observation time for a single EAVN proposal is limited to 150 hours in case of usage of only KaVA, while one can request for the maximum total observation time of 60 hours for Tianma and Nanshan for a single proposal, and that of 24 hours for Nobeyama and Takahagi. If requested, the observation time can be allocated over a year until 10th January 2021, however the total observation time is still limited to 150 hours even in this case.

Target of opportunity

EAVN accepts target of opportunity (ToO) proposals, while Nobeyama and Takahagi cannot be included for ToO proposals. It is strongly recommended that ToO proposals (especially expected ToO) are submitted during the regular CfP. Unexpected or urgent ToO can be submitted as Director's Discretionary Time (DDT) proposals at any time. ToO proposals must include clear triggering criteria to initiate an observation. ToOs are valid for one year after it is approved. ToO proposals for DDT should follow the same format of regular call and should be sent to eavnprop(at mark)kasi.re.kr.

Proposal submission

Proposals should be submitted via EAVN website. Proposal submission deadline is 15th November 2019, 8:00 UT. Please refer to the EAVN status report for detailed information about the proposal format. The designated coversheet form can be downloaded via the EAVN websites.

EAVN websites

Please refer to the following EAVN website for more information about the array capabilities and detailed conditions for proposal submission.

EAVN website: http://eavn.kasi.re.kr/


Mareki Honma
Director of Mizusawa VLBI Observatory, NAOJ

Kee-Tae Kim
Director of Radio Astronomy Division, KASI

Zhi-Qiang Shen
Director of Shanghai Astronomical Observatory, CAS

Na Wang
Director of Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory, CAS

KASI logo image

KaVA ( KVN and VERA Array )